Glad you asked!
We call these 'Portal Users' and they are available on the customer detail screen.
Table of Contents
They are meant to work with contacts, so you can add contacts, then assign them portal user groups with different permissions.
Here are some technical details:
- If a customer has no portal users, they will be able to use their secure token login link that is on by default and linked to from the customer detail screen in the app
- If there is at least one portal user, the secure login link will no longer be enough, they will be redirected to also use their username/password combination
- If there is a portal user and no contacts, once they login, they should see what they had before - everything by default
- If there is a portal user assigned to a contact, they whatever default portal permission is set at Admin > Customers > Portal permissions
- If you as a technician log into a customers portal account, it doesn't log you out for a long time, if you then click a link to another customers portal that does not have portal users, instead of just 'being logged into it' the system will detect your prior login, and have to log you out of that session - end result, if you log in and out of a lot of portal accounts, some you'll have to click the link twice
Portal user permission groups will allow you to set permission levels on what can be accessed and viewed within the customer portal. Then you can give your customers and contacts access to their portal based on these permission groups and choose what they can and cannot view.
To set these up head to Admin > Customers > Portal User Permission Groups:
From here you can edit an existing Permission Group or add a new one. You can select which permission group you would like to be the default group that is automatically applied to new portal users. To edit an existing group, select the icon next to the group and hit 'edit'.
Here you can choose what permissions you want each portal user in that permission group to have access to in their customer portal.
Once the Portal User Permission Groups have been set up, they can now be applied to your customers and contacts.
If you opt to not set up portal users, you can utilize the system "Non-Portal Users" permissions group:
This will allow you to assign which permissions these users have by default, without having them log in with their own dedicated portal accounts.
While by default it is possible to get directly into the Customer Portal, you can also give the customer a Username and password to secure their Portal.
2. Once enabled, you can choose which portal user group the contact will belong to:
3. Once the Portal Group has been selected, press 'Save' to send the portal invitation. The contact will receive an invitation to the email on file to finish setting up their portal account.
If the contact does not have an email on file, when you select 'Enable Portal User' you will be given the option to manually create a username and password that can then be sent to your client:
4. Your customer will now be able to login through the portal login page that can be added to your email templates - or linked from your website:
You man also enable the portal for multiple customers/contacts in bulk by heading to the main customer page and selecting which customers you would like to have portal access. More on that here.
Self-Serve Password Reset:
If your customer has forgotten their password for the portal, you can choose to send them an email to reset their password by heading to the contact and selecting 'Password Reset':
Then you can choose to send a Password Reset link to the customer's email:
Note this only works if the portal user has their email as the login. If they do not, you will need to use the manual password override.
You can enable multi-factor authentication (MFA) for any newly created or existing portal user.
To enable MFA select the dropdown arrow under the Portal Users section on the customer's detail page. Then select the checkbox next to 'Require MFA For This User' and save by selecting 'Update Portal User':
Customers will then be prompted to set up MFA the next time they log in to the customer portal.
You can disable MFA by unchecking the box above and updating the portal user. Please note you will need to require MFA for each individual portal user added.